Commended winners named in NHBC Health and Safety Awards

57 UK site managers have been awarded Commended status in NHBC’s annual Health and Safety Awards.  Now in their ninth year, the Awards recognise and reward site managers’ commitment to achieving the very best in on site health and safety.

In recent years the standard of health and safety across the whole of the house-building industry has improved considerably. Significant progress has been made in on site safety with the Health and Safety Executive (HSE) reporting 30 fatal injuries last year, down from the previous five year average of 44 construction related deaths.

Housebuilders are also placing more emphasis on improving the standard of occupational health. Construction workers are at least 100 times more likely to die from an occupational disease than from an accident, and 80,000 construction workers suffer from work-related ill health each year. NHBC’s Health and Safety Awards celebrate the site managers who prioritise the health and wellbeing of their teams.

Increasingly the industry is showcasing and sharing best practice in health and safety, resulting in the industry-leading practices we saw introduced a few years ago now becoming the norm.

Stephen Ashworth, NHBC Health and Safety Services Manager, said:

“The record number of entries we received this year shows that house builders are committed to driving up health and safety standards, and show a real desire to keep their colleagues and workplaces safe and healthy.

“Each Commended Winner understands and demonstrates that good health and safety practice is inextricably linked to good organisation, good quality and good customer service.

“Our health and safety advisors make several visits to every winning site and have scored them against the highly stringent standards set for the competition.  We now have an outstanding shortlist of finalists; our independent panel of judges have definitely got their work cut out this year.”

The Commended Winners will go on to compete for the Highly Commended and National titles, to be announced at a Gala Awards evening in Birmingham on 6 July 2018, hosted by Britain’s top satirical impressionist Rory Bremner.

For the full list of winners please visit: